In the beginning (1994-95) as remembered by Lois Brown
Anita Hardison and the class quilt

Anita Hardison and the class quilt

“It all began at that little hobby shop in the Mono Plaza…called Country Pleasures.

Anita Hardison had won an award for a most beautiful quilt. It was a Christmas Quilt and it was awesome.

Anita and the store owner, Janet Sammut, decided to invite a few ladies that were clients to share in a hand made quilt class. We would all make a pieced and needle turned applique lap quilt with 6 different squares and complete it with borders and a hanging rod sleeve.

There were roughly 12 of us and as we were meeting every week we came to know each other and thoroughly enjoyed comparing our projects and our progress.

When the project ended we thought it would be fun to do another quilt. That is when people started bringing friends and acquaintances”

A public meeting was held in early May to gauge support for the formation of a Guild. It was “a go” with Janet Laing taking on the challenging role as President and Lois Brown publishing the first Newsletter “Dufferin Quilter’s Digest” in September. Two contests were held to determine the guild’s name and its logo. Hilda Leader won for Dufferin Piecemakers Quilting Guild and Jan Evans won for her intricate logo design. The logo was replaced in 1997-98 with the current Yellow Briar Rose designed by Kym Ranger.

The Founding Members were given a 6.5 inch square of cream fabric and asked to applique a heart onto it and to sign their name with a Pegma pen, Elizabeth Campbell assembled the banner.

1st Banner signed by Founding Members

The Founding Members: Hilda Leader; Marie Exelby; Madeleine Rentsch; Joyce Dennie; Betty Sanderson; Vera Cook; Marjorie Speers; Janet Sammut; Barbara Schroder; Barbara Heath; Nancy Cartmell; Berva Buttery; Fern Pugh; Jackie Green; Jean Douglas; Cheryl Golas; Louise Cornelius; Leah Mitchell; Cathy Mould; Mickey Gardner; Cynthia Cotton; Joan McKenzie; Mary Bell; Elsie Baker; Dufferin County Museum & Archives. President-Janet Laing; Vice President-Faye Wilkinson; Secretary-Janice Evans; Treasurer-Margaret Rayner; Membership/Library- Diane Woodward; Newsletter-Lois Brown; Program/Raffles-Shannon Gough & Elizabeth Campbell.

As of 2019 the following members are still active: Joyce, Betty, Berva, Fern, Louise, Lois and Leah.